jump to navigation

On a Less Baby-Related Note, 26 January, 2008

Posted by monopod in Books, Maternity Musings, Music.
trackback

because this blog is becoming baby-obsessed, I thought I would write about something entirely unrelated. Therefore I would like to announce that I have recently added the following to my nostalgia book collection:

– The Malory Towers series (Enid Blyton)
– The Secret Island series (Blyton again – the only one still missing is The Secret of Moon Castle)
– The first three books in each of the Faraway Tree and Wishing Chair collections (Blyton)
– The Time Quintet (Madeleine L’Engle)
Marianne Dreams (Catherine Storr)
A Little Princess (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
What Katy Did At School and What Katy Did Next (Susan Coolidge)
Gulliver’s Travels (Jonathan Swift)
Good Wives (Louisa M. Alcott – now just missing Little Men)
The Wizard of Oz (L. Frank Baum)

I have also re-read the whole of the Beatrix Potter collection and am working my way through the complete Winnie the Pooh, which were both bought at the tender age of 19 for my future kids.

Oops.

To redeem myself I’ll also tell you that I recently found the Roxette Hits! CD at HMV for the princely sum of 6 pounds (double or nearly double the price everywhere else), and am looking forward to receiving in the post this CD from Amazon after having heard the Coull Quartet perform the second movement of the Ravel String Quartet in F Major, which is really quite delightful.

On that unusually cultured note, I’m off to squash some more paper in the recycling bin, and then I will attempt to do something useful around the house instead of continuing to cultivate my bug-in-the-rug alter-ego.

Comments»

1. bouncybaby - 26 January, 2008

I’m very glad that my own blog doesn’t pretend to be anything other than a pregnancy diary! lol

I loved all the Malory Towers and Secret Island books, which were really excellent! Loved the Faraway Tree series, too and almost bought it for myself at Christmas when I saw it in Borders, if you can believe that!! I love the Book Club people coming around at work as I always pick up bits to read to (ahem) AJ and Aly when they’re older, like the Chronicles of Narnia. Of course, I might read them myself first, just as a refresher…..(!)

2. bouncybaby - 27 January, 2008

Also meant to mention, if you haven’t heard already heard of it, the Twins of St Clare’s collection, which is very similar to the Malory Towers series, and also by Enid Blyton. Boy there was a lot of good stuff coming from that direction! lol

3. monopod - 27 January, 2008

Oh, I had those too 😉 But I think I preferred Malory Towers – plus at the time I was looking no one was selling the full series and I didn’t feel like getting bits and pieces here and there…

4. bouncybaby - 27 January, 2008

Good point – I hate only getting part of a series – winds me up no end!!


Leave a Reply

