jump to navigation

Because I Have A Speech To Write and I’m Procrastinating, 2 January, 2008

Posted by monopod in Maternity Musings.
trackback

And now that I’ve also finished the ironing, because I am, blessedly, feeling a little better, I thought I would blog about baby stuff.

During my period of house arrest I did manage to get out on a few occasions to test the recovery waters – suffice to say that both of these should probably not have occurred given the consequences, but on the bright side Him and I did manage to get ourselves an excellent deal on a carrycot/pushchair/pram/buggy/stroller/wotsit (is there anyone out there who can enlighten me on the difference between these? I’ve decided to decide that a pushchair and a stroller are the same thing and a pram is a carrycot plus chassis but still don’t have a verdict on buggy/wotsit).

So I present to you our new Stokke Xplory (on the right is the carrycot, 0-6 months; on the left the standard seat from 6 months until the kid is too big to be even thinking about still sitting in a pushchair):

Stokke Xplory

We obviously won’t be able to give a proper review on this until the bean comes out and we have occasion to take him/her on a walk, but what we really like so far is the little one being able to be high up – plus the Xplory’s excellent height adjustment, manoeuvrability, and what appears to be a very smooth ride. I think it’s pretty funky too. Although it looks massive next to me, but that appears not to be incongruent with a lot of the other carrycots/pushchairs/prams/buggies/strollers/wotsits on the market. The majority of the Xplory being high off the ground probably exacerbates the visual effect of bulk too.

Other purchases we are planning for the coming months are a cotbed (I am very taken with the Stokke Sleepi because it’s gadgety and I am a sucker for gadgets, but just can’t justify the cost), a baby sling (possibly a Cuddly Wrap), and our car-seat (almost definitely a Maxi-Cosi CabrioFix). Then the little bits and pieces like bedding, clothes and nappies, etc, though we’re hoping to keep things as simple and streamlined as possible and not amass too many baby ‘necessities’ that aren’t.

If anyone has any particular recommendations, don’t-buys, or just wants to comment randomly, please proceed.

Comments»

1. bouncybaby - 3 January, 2008

Well, I like my big, bulky travel system but I can see that this one would suit you. Bumpster and I prefer something more substantial, particularly as the car seat fits directly onto it and you don’t have to wake baby when moving from car to pram/home.

As for recommendations, these are really personal choices so I can only suggest that you make sure you buy what’s right for YOU. Reviews on all products are really mixed because people are just so different, especially when worrying about what’s best for their lo.

Don’t-buys: there are millions. Yes, it’s nice to have gadgets and anything that will help with looking after baby, but don’t be suckered or guilted into buying stuff that you don’t need – that’s what the manufacturers want you to do. Take a step back when you’re thinking of purchasing and ask if you really need it or whether there’s a cheaper, practical alternative. Definitely do NOT impulse buy.

Soz, don’t mean to dictate, just a few things that I’ve come across in my time!

2. bouncybaby - 3 January, 2008

That Stokke Sleepi looks amazing! NOt strictly necessary, but my goodness, it’s fabulous.

3. monopod - 3 January, 2008

Dictator.

😉

You can fit the Maxi-Cosi car seat directly onto the Xplory too – nifty eh? Just got to get the adaptor (about 20/25 extra quid I think).

I’m pretty good at avoiding impulse buys so as long as I don’t get swayed by pregnant brain and Him keeps me in check we should be ok!

And I lurve the Sleepi. I haven’t seen anything quite like it and am completely charmed by the mini-cot, esp. as we haven’t really got the space in our master bedroom for a full-sized cot-bed for the first 6 months or so… The chairs are really cute too!

Incidentally have you seen the Stokke Tripp Trapp highchair? That’s another one for when baby turns 6 months… these Scandinavians know their design, I tell you.

4. bouncybaby - 3 January, 2008

I’ve just had a look for the highchair and I like it a lot! One comment on highchairs: make sure you get ones that are wipe down or with cushions that detatch easily. My original one needed several bolts to be undone to take it apart, it was hand wash only and took flippin’ ages to dry as it had hard panels inside it that couldn’t be removed. My new one is moulded plastic and cushions are easily added!

5. monopod - 3 January, 2008

We (probably) won’t get the Sleepi, much as I love it, but we’re definitely getting the Tripp Trapp! And point taken about easy cleaning! Everything on the Xplory is machine washable which is great, plus the materials dry quickly (we washed it all before putting it into storage last week). The Maxi-Cosi car seat loses points for not being that easy to clean but I think its crash test results put that in the shade.

6. bouncybaby - 3 January, 2008

Cool – the Tripp Trapp sounds like a good plan. And I agree about the safety first car seat – you have to draw the line somewhere!

Looking at your amended post, I think I agree with what you’ve decided to decide! I suppose I think of a buggy as a fixed seat on wheels – very basic with no removable parts – does that help?

7. monopod - 3 January, 2008

That will do 😛


Leave a Reply

