jump to navigation

More Gear Happiness 9 July, 2007

Posted by monopod in Climbing, Gear.
trackback

I’ve had pretty much all of work that I can stand today, so have decided to take refuge in mooning over all things outdoor. This morning I utilised that trick of gritting my teeth and then reminding myself that THERE ARE ONLY EIGHT WORKING DAYS TO GO BEFORE I GET TO GO ON HOLIDAY, which immediately turned that end-of-year-end-of-tether loving feeling on its head, and now I’m feeling a little bit better, if not demonstrating any sense of coherence whatsoever.

But no matter. This post is dedicated purely to the loveliness that is new gear.

Like these:

Evolv Elektra

Which fit funny the last time I tried them on, but having narrowed down my list to the 5.10 Anasazi velcros, the Mad Rock Mugens and the Evolv Elektras, and subsequently having ruled out the Anasazis because they are perhaps best reserved as modern instruments of torture and deciding that the Mugens are too padded and hip-looking for me (do they still stay ‘hip’?), ended up back at square one with the Elektras again.

Now that I’ve completed the longest sentence in the world, I’ll tell you what I really meant to do, and that is to nod sagely in agreement with anyone who tells you to try on every pair in your size in rock shoes – even two pairs of the same size – because when it comes to the degree of snugness you want, minute variations can make some fairly considerable differences. Maiden outing at the wall on Wednesday!

In other news, ultra-lightweight backpacking with my current daypack would probably be a little optimistic, so a new pack is also on the cards. It’s probably going to be either the Osprey Aura 50 or Aura 35:

Aura 50

Aura 35

Oh, and because it’s probably going to be chucking it down when we get to the Lakes, these:

Berghaus Monsoon overtrousers

Which ought to fit in the age 11-12 version.

This post has been brought to you by the letter FED-UP and the number 8, and is clearly meant to be of interest primarily to me.

Comments»

1. bouncybaby - 10 July, 2007

Umm, I think the only comment I can make after all of that is:

Yay, holiday soon! Me too!

2. monopod - 10 July, 2007

HOLIDAY!!!! Where are you off to?

3. bouncybaby - 10 July, 2007

The same thing I do every holiday; the family want to see AJ so we’re off to stay with them for a bit. Still, it gives us a break from looking after him 24-7, and we are staying at a guest house by the lakes for a couple of days during the visit.

How about you? Active stuff, huh? I intend to spend my time being completely inactive!

4. monopod - 10 July, 2007

Active mostly – hillwalking, scrambling, climbing – but also time to do nothing but mooch around the local towns and villages (and disappear for hours into outdoor shops) πŸ™‚

5. bouncybaby - 10 July, 2007

I can’t say it would be my idea of a good time, but it’s your life! πŸ™‚

6. monopod - 10 July, 2007

I like being completely inactive too so we can do that together at least!

7. Marsha - 10 July, 2007

heee! it’s so interesting to see what others shop for … as for me, well you know, beads, findings, sterling silver stuff … oooh, and now fabric stashes!!! can’t wait to start on my new little project! πŸ˜‰

8. bouncybaby - 11 July, 2007

Well if we’re talking shopping…the top of my shopping list currently reads: bed for AJ – URGENT.

Have to get it sorted before hols but am yet to find the energy.

9. monopod - 11 July, 2007

Six working days! Six! Ahahahahahaha.

My other weakness is books. Yummy.

10. bouncybaby - 12 July, 2007

Ooh, books. Definitely.

Question: Am I weird? The thing I hate most in the world is shopping for shoes, closely followed by clothes. Am I a failure as a woman?!

11. monopod - 12 July, 2007

Don’t believe in stereotyping, so no πŸ™‚ One of my sisters hates shopping for the same things too so I perfectly understand!

12. bouncybaby - 12 July, 2007

Phew! Thought I was the only one. Hooray for being non-mainstream!


Leave a Reply

