jump to navigation

Gear Musings 24 June, 2007

Posted by monopod in Climbing, Gear, Retail Therapy.
trackback

In between searching for papers and trying to construct a literature review today (have somehow gotten roped into writing an academic paper, which is very interesting but requires much more sustained and concentrated brain activity than I have been used to in recent weeks/months/years), I went Googling for shoes.

The Salomon XA Pro 3D XCR was already on my shortlist and I tried a pair on yesterday afternoon while at Go, but this review has sealed the deal and I shall be gleefully making a purchase next weekend*. Performance aside I also think it’s very good-looking, as far as shoes go.

Salomon XA Pro 3D XCR

See?

I’m less decided about new rock shoes. I was very impressed yesterday afternoon with the fit of the new Mad Rock Mugen:

Mad Rock New Mugen

In my normal athletic shoe size these are incredibly tight, with no significant dead space in the heel or instep, yet not so excruciatingly snug that they’d cripple you in no time flat. I am concerned, however, about various opinions I’ve read that cast aspersions on the stickiness of the rubber and the split sole (and to a lesser extent the whiffiness of the shoes). Illusions aside, I’m far from being an illustrious climber – I average an F6a/6a+ at the wall and have only just tasted an E1 5b outdoors – so ultra performance shouldn’t be that much of an issue. My RC Spirits still seem to be holding up pretty well, notwithstanding general lack of snugness everywhere apart from the toe area (but especially in the heel), but it just feels like it’s time for a change. Plus I’m hoping to get outdoors a lot more and relacing shoes between climbs is annoying.

Or then again, maybe I just want to buy shoes. Like these Havaianas:

Havaianas Top White

And these, which I got yesterday to match that evening gown I mentioned a while back:

Schuh diamante heels

At this point I am forcibly putting a stop on my (mostly) virtual spending and getting back to writing about the elite academic brain drain.

*Edit on 26 June: Boooo. Went to Go today and bought them, but have now tried them on properly in various insole and sock permutations and I get heel lift and weird pressure points on the top of my feet. So back they go, and back I go to the drawing board.

Comments»

1. Case - 25 June, 2007

Are you now a Research Assistant as well as an Executive Officer?

Also, been meaning to ask, what are the pros and cons of WordPress versus the system I’m currently on?

2. monopod - 25 June, 2007

Apparently so. It’s in the last line of the job description, doncha know (‘Anything else that proves necessary’) 😉

Ah, pros and cons of WordPress vs Warwick Blogs! I’ve been meaning to comment on your post – will go do so now.


Leave a Reply

