jump to navigation

Small Person on Board 6 July, 2005

Posted by monopod in Self-Absorption.
trackback

I’ve been asked to be the mace bearer at two of this summer’s Degree Congregation ceremonies next week. Except I’ve just tried on the gown and it’s handy that I’m wearing 3-inch heels today because otherwise 3 inches of the gown would have been dragging along the floor.

So now Wippell & Co will have to do a rush-job on tacking up the gown for the two morning ceremonies I’m mace-bearing at. It’s also handy that the mace bearer for the afternoon ceremonies on the same days is nearly two heads taller than me.

Eeh.

Comments»

1. Casey Leaver - 6 July, 2005

That’s a compliment – they only ever choose the very smartest people for mace-bearing duties: Jon Inegbedion, Ben Plummer etc.!

2. monopod - 6 July, 2005

Really? Ooo, that’s nice 🙂

Cathy tells me that Jon Inegbedion is a class act in the art of mace bearing, so I’m going to pop along to the first ceremony on Monday to watch him.

Then I will try to emulate him, if I don’t first fall flat on my face because my foot’s gotten caught in my mace-bearer gown.

3. Casey Leaver - 13 July, 2005

Tom Abbott’s doing it this morning!

I’ve promised to signal to him when the VC’s in position.


Leave a Reply

