jump to navigation

More reeducation 24 October, 2004

Posted by monopod in Books, Self-Absorption.
trackback

Follow-up to Literary reeducation

The lure of 3 for 2 in Waterstone’s in Birmingham was too much to resist today. Despite the books still unread on my bookshelves (although actual acquisition has never been a problem (MORE! MORE!), while at Uni and in the first two years of my working life I believe I read virtually zilch material apart from that necessary for degree excellence (in celebration of the secret geek that I am)) I have suddenly, in the space of a couple of months, started reading with a passion again.

Today’s acquisitions were:

A Short History of Nearly Everything (Bill Bryson)
Twenty-One Stories (Graham Greene)
The Five People You Meet in Heaven (Mitch Alborn)

In the spirit of anxious pretentiousness, dahlink, I’m trying to buy books that are somehow more redeeming than one-read forgettables, so I can both impress people with my intellectual capability (nudge, snort) and be smug in the thought I might actually learn something from them (that’s my stack of brainless trash mags out the window then). A success, clearly.

I still owe me a book review on The Da Vinci Code. I have notes scattered around the place but can’t seem to bring myself to write something intellectual. And I probably shouldn’t have said that, because now I’ve gone and resigned myself to having to produce something intellectual, which I fear may be somewhat of an impossibility.

Upon surveying my bookshelves I think I know what I may eventually need to do with our blank living room wall. Although I still haven’t read half of what I blissfully acquired during my Uni life (not to mention the books I haven’t read yet from my last haul – Milan Kundera’s ever-so-slightly (nudge) difficult to get into, but I shall persevere).

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

